Which Smartphones are Eligible to Receive Android 8.0 Oreo?

After many months of speculation about Android 8.0’s name, Google finally decided to come out and announce that it’s going to be Oreo. The Android parent teamed up with the company that holds the rights for the Oreo brand and signed a co-partnership contract which means that Google doesn’t need to pay anything in order to use this name. Things get even better since Google and Oreo want to create special events together. Nonetheless, now that we know Android 8.0 Oreo is coming out, the question that remains is which smartphones will receive it first? Well, wonder no more since today we will answer that question.

Android 8.0 Oreo Eligible Smartphones

Right from the start, according to News4c, we need to mention that Nexus 5X, Nexus 6P, Pixel, Pixel C, Pixel XL and Nexus Player owners can enlist in Google’s Beta Program and get Android 8.0 ahead of everyone else. Furthermore, these are the companies which announced that their premium smartphones will receive Google’s latest operating system before 2017 ends:

  • Sony;
  • Huawei;
  • Essential;
  • General Mobile;
  • Motorola;
  • Sharp;
  • Kyocera;
  • HTC;
  • HMD Global (Nokia)
  • Samsung;

As we all can clearly see, there’s quite a large number of companies that pledge to optimize Android 8.0 in order to work on their flagship smartphones. Although, the only problem left is figuring out which are the smartphones that are going to receive Android 8.0. Obviously, the flagship ones are eligible but what about the rest? They will probably receive Google’s new operating system through an OTA (over the air) update as well but at a later date.

In case you are wondering why is everyone is so excited about Android 8.0 Oreo, that’s because this new operating system will completely change everything we know about Android. Google announced that it will be packed with innovative features and performance tweaks which will bring Android powered devices to the next level.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *